Types Of MEA Attestation

There are 2 types of MEA attestation in India

  1. MEA Attestation
  2. MEA Apostille


What is the difference between MEA Attestation & MEA Apostille ?

Apostille: India is a member of the Hague Convention of October 5, 1961, abolishing the requirement of legalization of foreign public documents.

Apostille is acceptable in 104 member-countries of the Convention (also visit HCCH website: www.hcch.net External website ). Apostille is done for personal documents like birth/death/marriage certificates, Affidavits, Power of Attorney, etc. and educational documents like degree, diploma, matriculation and secondary level certificates etc.

Normal Attestation: It is done for all the countries who are not the member of Hague Convention and where apostille is not accepted. Embassy Attestation is required for these type of MEA Attestation.

Leave a Reply